Norbriggs Primary School

Where Every Child Counts


All children follow the National curriculum for the four core subjects: Literacy, Numeracy, Computing and Science and a further seven foundation subjects: History, Geography, Art, Design and Technology, Music, P.E and PSHE. R.E is taught in line with the Derbyshire agreed syllabus. As a school we organise our curriculum into topics and use Cornerstone Curriculum as a creative, thematic resource . Below you will find overview of the topics your child will cover in each class.

EYFS Topic Overview

KS1 + KS2 Topic Overview, cycle a

KS1 + KS2 Topic Overview, cycle b


The children are taught phonics using the 'Read Write Inc' (RWI) programme which begins in Nursery and continues through Key stage One and Key Stage Two. Children are assessed half termly and are grouped according to ability. By the time children reach Year 2 children move on from RWI phonics to spelling. If your child still requires support with phonics they are given intervention in smaller groups.

Reading Scheme

Children in Reception begin by reading single sounds and as they blend confidently are given Phonic books to take home to practise their skills. The core reading scheme that we use in our school is 'Oxford Reading Tree'. Children are taught the main characters when they first begin on the scheme with a few simple words. As their reading ability progresses the books become more challenging. We use a book banding system so that children are free to choose a variety of books within their reading ability.

As a school we encourage reading at home with class rewards and have a school library where children can loan a variety of different books both fiction and non-fiction.