Norbriggs Primary School


All children follow the National curriculum for the four core subjects: Literacy, Numeracy, Computing and Science and a further seven foundation subjects: History, Geography, Art, Design and Technology, Music, P.E and PSHE. R.E is taught in line with the Derbyshire agreed syllabus. As a school we follow the creative, thematic Cornerstone Curriculum. Below you will find links to find out the topics your child will cover this year in their class.



Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6


The children are taught phonics using the 'Read Write Inc' (RWI) programme which begins in Nursery and continues through Key stage One and Key Stage Two. Children are assessed throughout the year and are grouped according to ability. By the time children reach Year 2 children move on from RWI phonics to spelling. If your child still requires support with phonics they are given intervention in smaller groups.

Reading Scheme

The core reading scheme that we use in our school is 'Oxford Reading Tree'. Children are taught the main characters when they first begin on the scheme with a few simple words. As their reading ability progresses the books become more challenging.

As a school we encourage reading at home with class rewards and have a school library where children can loan a variety of different books both fiction and non-fiction.